Home Nigeria Soludo Sends List of 20 Anambra State Commissioners as Nominees to State...

Soludo Sends List of 20 Anambra State Commissioners as Nominees to State Assembly for Screening

Anambra State Commissioners
Anambra State Commissioners

By Uche Amunike

The new Governor of Anambra State, Professor Charles Chukwuma Soludo, Tuesday, submitted a list of 20 Anambra State Commissioners as nominees for screening by the State House of Assembly.
Speaking, during plenary on Tuesday, the Speaker of the House, Honorable Uche Okafor made the announcement and further, read the letter that came with the list, dated March 28th and addressed to the House by Governor Soludo, exactly 12 days after his inauguration.
Governor Soludo failed in his promise to provide the list of commissioners to the state Assembly within one week like he promised during his inaugural address on March 17.
Recall that his exact words were: ‘within the next one week, the list of Commissioners will be laid before the House of assembly’.
However, the fact that the list he sent to the legislators was dated March 23, might be a clear indication that it had been ready since six days after the inauguration.
Also on the list are names of 15 Special Advisers also appointed by the Governor and awaiting confirmation by the legislature. The special advisers were approved by a voice note as a majority leader moved the motion for their confirmation.
Those who made the list of Commissioners are Mr. Ifeatu Onejeme, a former commissioner during the administration of former Governor Willie Obiano who has been appointed Commissioner for Finance, Professor Offonze Amucheazi as Commissioner for Lands, Mr. Ifeanyi Okoma, an Engineer, as Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, Ms Chiamaka Nnake (Budget and Economic Planning), Dr. Afam Obidike (Health), Mr. Patrick Agha Mba (Youth Development), Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo (Women and Social Welfare), Dr. Obinna Ngonadi (Commerce and Industry) and Engr Julius Chukwuemeka ( Power and Water Resources).
Others are Professor Chuma- Ude (Education), Paul Nwosu (Information), Dr. Forster Ihejiofor (Agriculture), Mrs. Patricia Igwebuike (Transport), Engr Chinedu Odumegwu (Environment), Mr. Chikodi Anara (Homeland Affairs), Professor Sylvia Ifemeje (Attorney General and Justice), Mr. Collins Nwabunwanne ( Local Government, Chieftaincy and Community Affairs), Mr. Donatus Onyenji (Culture, Entertainment and Tourism), Barr Anthony Ifeanya (Petroleum and Mineral Resources) and Mr. Paulinus Onyeka ( Housing).
The Speaker of the House, Honorable Okafor has directed the Committee in charge of appointments to commence screening of the nominees immediately and from all indications, the approval might be ready before the end of this week.
Three, out of the 20 Anambra State Commissioner nominees served in the past administration of former Governor Willie Obiano. They are the new Commissioner-designate for Information, Mr Paul Nwosu who was Special Adviser to the former governor, Honorable Ify Obinabo who served as Local Government Chairman for Orumba North and Barrister Ifeanya who is the State Secretary of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).
A total of 3 Professors made the list. They are Prof Offornze Amucheazi, SAN, designated as Commissioner of Lands; Prof Ngozi Therese Chuma-Udeh for Education and Prof (Mrs) Sylvia Chika Ifemeje as Attorney General/ Justice.
The youngest nominees are 34year old Ms Helen Chiamaka Nnake designated as Commissioner for Budget and Economic Planning and 35year old Engr Julius Mmelikan Chukwuemeka designated as Commissioner of Power and Water Resources. Out of the 20 names in the Nominees list of Anambra State Commissioners, 5 are of the female gender.
Previous articlePeter Obi declares interest to run for Nigeria Presidential Election 2023
Next articleFemi Falana: Why Nigeria needs new constitution


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here