Home Nigeria Labour Party suspends Kenneth Okonkwo, others for anti-party activities

Labour Party suspends Kenneth Okonkwo, others for anti-party activities

Kenneth Okonkwo
Kenneth Okonkwo


The Lamidi Apapa led-Labour Party faction has suspended 12 members for alleged anti-party activities.

Among those suspended is veteran Nollywood actor, Kenneth Okonkwo, who was one of the spokespersons for the Obi-Datti Presidential Campaign Council. He resigned his membership from the All Progressive Congress (APC) before the presidential elections.

Also suspended is the Acting National Publicity Secretary, Comrade Obiora Ifo.

Their suspension was contained in a communiqué issued at the end of its National Executive Council (NEC) meeting yesterday in Bauchi State.

The communiqué reads: “That the NEC in session also considers the action of 12 of its members namely – Obiora Ifo, Kenneth Okonkwo, Mrs. Adebayo Ekong, Com. P.G. Igene, Adeola Adebanjo, Funke Awolowo, Sam Okpala, Folusho considers Olakemi, Olubunmi Adesanya, Lanre Adenuga, and Olatubosun Oswald – for their anti-party activities and unruly behavior against the party leadership, which include issuing statements without the authority of the party.

“The NEC in session, therefore, suspends them from the party. It also suspends all the National Working Committee (NWC) members and state chairmen and secretaries over contempt of the FCT High Court restraining order who participated the illegal NEC meeting convened by Barr Julius Abure on April 18, in Asaba, Delta State, and recommends them for disciplinary action, and investigation for fraudulent and anti-party activities over their conduct of the April 15 governorship primaries in Imo, Bayelsa and Kogi states, directed by Julius Abure and Umar Farouk Ibrahim, parading themselves as National Chairman and National Secretary. They are Prince Kenedy Ahanotu, Mrs. Ladi Illiya, Dr. Ayo Olorunfemi, Chief Innocent Agumba, and Mrs. Dudu Manuga, being the state chairmen and secretaries who attended that illegal NEC meeting.

“The NEC also examined the anti-party activities of some of its members and resolved that the faction reaffirms and uphold the decision of the Ogun State executives which earlier expelled some members over their failure to pay membership dues for over six months.

The affected members are Mr. Kehinde Shogunle, Engr. Akinpelu Shogunle, Engr. Lukmon Jagun Abiodun, Mr. Tokunbo Peters, Bukola Shoyooye, Barr. Oluwafemi Ibiayo, Feson Gbadebo, Dayo Folarin, Adeshina Shojobi, Bamjoko Ajekpe, Tunde Taiwo and Olatunde Abolade.

Others are Abosede Lamidi, Malik Olaleye, Adesegun Banmodu and Rev. Olufolabi Adebayo.

Previous articleWhy I Quit Secular Music – Singer Chidinma reveals
Next articleVictor Osimhen makes history, leads Napoli to Scudetto title after 33 years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here