Home Nigeria Idu Railway station named after Amina Mohammed by FG, first living woman...

Idu Railway station named after Amina Mohammed by FG, first living woman so honoured

As a prelude to the celebration of International Women's Day, the Central African Minister of Social Action and Family, Ms. Gisel PANA, visited the women in Bimbo Women's Prison and Corrections. On occasion, women prisoners have exhibited for sale works produced as part of Income Generating Activities, with the support of MINUSCA. An action aimed at contributing to their reintegration.www.icj-cij.org
Amina Mohammed
Amina Mohammed

News sources recently announced the amazing incidence of the first Nigerian woman alive to be given a monumental and nominal honour by being named after a train station.

The federal government recently named the Idu railway station after Amina Mohammed a lady who has been well renowned for her remarkable achievement to the federation so far.

The federal government deemed it fit to honour Amina Mohammed after considering and acknowledgement of her huge efforts and contributions and thus, named the Idu railway complex and the light rail station both in the federal capital territory (FCT) after her.

Amina Mohammed is the deputy secretary-general of the United Nations.

She was also a former minister of environment in Nigeria.

The federal government made  the declaration on Tuesday,16 February 2021 through their social media platform  Twitter handle @NigeriaGov.

The tweet reads;

“NOTICE: The Federal Government of Nigeria has named the Idu Railway Complex—including the Idu Railway Station of #AbujaKadunaRail & the Light Rail Station of the FCT #AbujaMetro, and associated facilities—after @AminaJMohammed, Deputy Secretary General of the United Nations @UN,”

It is noteworthy to state that by virtue of this announcement by the FG, she becomes the first living Nigerian woman to have a railway station named after her.

Last year 2020, President Muhammadu Buhari named some major railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after ‘deserving Nigerians’.

These included the likes of former President Goodluck Jonathan; Bola Tinubu, national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC); Wole Soyinka, Nobel laureate; and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo are among those who made the list.

Moreso, other deserved Nigerians that had the previledge of having stations named after them, include: Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station); Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station); Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station) and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).

However, it was obviously noted that former President and elder’s statesman, Olusegun Obasanjo was exempted to the surprise of many.

Many Nigerians lauded Amina’s achievements and hope that this would be the beginning of so many awards and honour of this magnitude for more of the female folk who are indeed beginning to make their voices heard and their presence felt.

– Staff Writer

Gift Joseph Okpakorese



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here