Home Entertainment Headies Awards 2023 Winners, Burna Boy, Asake, Rema, Others, Shine in Atlanta

Headies Awards 2023 Winners, Burna Boy, Asake, Rema, Others, Shine in Atlanta

Headies Awards
Headies Awards

By Uche Amunike

Super talented Nigerian artists, Burna Boy, Asake and Rema each shone in the spotlight, alongside other Headies Awards 2023 Winners at the just concluded awards show, which basically showcases Pan-African and Afrobeats talents and was held on Sunday September 3, at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia,  USA.

Burna Boy and Rema received three awards each at the awards ceremony which had the eligibility period of January 2022- March 2023.  Burna Boy took Afrobeats single of the year, as well as song of the year, both for his song, ‘Last Last’, as well as best R&B single for ‘For My Hand’, featuring Ed Sheehan. Rema, on his part, won best male artist, digital artist of the year and African artist of the year, while the International Artist of the Year was won by Selena Gomez who teamed up with Rema to make the hit, ‘Calm Down’. Still on the song ‘Calm Down’, the best music video was won by Director K, who directed the video remix of the song

Asake is another Headies Awards 2023 winner, who also smiled home with two awards.

The show, which was hosted by Actor Terrence J and Nigerian actress Osas Ighodaro, was streamed live on YouTube (USA) and HipTV (Africa) Network.

Below, is the complete list of the Headies Award 2023 winners at the show:

Hall of Fame

WINNER: Youssou N’dour

Special Recognition

WINNER: Sound Sultan

International Artiste Recognition Award

WINNER: Sean “Love” Combs

International Artist of the Year



WINNER: Selena Gomez

Don Toliver

Ed Sheeran


Album of the Year

Love, Damini – Burna Boy

WINNER: Mr Money With the Vibe – Asake

Rave And Roses – Rema

Boy Alone – Omah Lay

Outlaw – Victony

Timeless – Davido


Song of the Year

“Calm Down” – Rema


WINNER: “Last Last” – Burna Boy


“Ku Lo Sa” – Oxlade

“Buga” – Kizz Daniel & Tekno

“Finesse” – Pheelz Ft. Bnxn

“Sungba Remix” – Asake Ft. Burna Boy


Best Female Artiste



WINNER: Ayra Starr

Tiwa Savage

Best Male Artiste



Kizz Daniel


Omah Lay

Burna Boy

Rookie of the Year




Bloody Civilian


WINNER: Odumodublvck

Eltee Skhillz

Best Recording of the Year

“Alone” – Burna Boy

WINNER: “Soweto” – Victony & Tempoe


“I’m A Mess” – Omah Lay

“Ku Lo Sa” – Oxlade

“Stand Strong” – Davido Ft. Sunday Service Choir

“No Woman, No Cry” – Tems


Producer of the Year

Magicsticks – “Sungba Remix” (Asake)

P.Prime, Tmxo & Pheelz – “Electricty” (Pheelz Ft Davido)

Andre Vibez & London – “Calm Down” (Rema)

Tempoe – “Soweto” (Victony & Tempoe)

Kel-P – “Kpe Paso” (Wande Coal & Olamide)


WINNER: Rexxie – “Abracadabra” (Rexxie, Naira Marley, Skiibii & Wizkid)


Songwriter of the Year

WINNER: Simi Kosoko, Godsfavour Chidozie, Kosoko Adekunle, Marcel Akunwata – “Loyal” (Simi)


Stanley Didia, Adebajo Adebanjo – “I’m A Mess” (Omah Lay)


Tems, Ludwig Goransson, Robyn Rihanna Fenty, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” (Rihanna)


Damini Ebunoluwa Ogulu, Austin Jnr Iornongu Iwar, Peace Oredope, Ludwig Goransson – “Alone” (Burna Boy)


Daniel Benson “In My Mind” (Bnxn)

Fuayefika Maxwell – Earth Song (Wizard Chan)


Best R&B Single

WINNER: “For My Hand” – Burna Boy Ft. Ed Sheeran

“Mmadu” – Ckay

“Just 4 U” – Dami Oniru

“Red Wine” – Preye

“Hard To Find” – Chike – Ft. Flavour

“Loyal” – Simi Ft. Fave

Best Rap Single

“Hustle” – Reminisce

“Big Energy” – Ladipoe

“Back In Uni” – Blaqbonez

“Bando Diaries” – Psychoyp

WINNER: “Declan Rice” – Odumodublvck


My Bro” – Jeriq Ft. Phyno

Best Alternative Song

WINNER: “Earth Song” – Wizard Chan

“Final Champion” – Cruel Santino

“The Traveller” – Basketmouth Ft The Cavemen

“In A Loop” – Boj Ft Moliy & Mellissa

“Game Changer” (Dike) – Flavour

“Tinko Tinko” – Obongjayar

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Niniola – “Memories”

Simi –  “Loyal”

WINNER: Waje – “In Between“

Liya – “Adua Remix”

Preye – “Red Wine”

Dami Oniru – “Just 4 U”

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Oxlade – “Ku Lo Sa”

Ric Hassani – “My Only Baby”

Magixx – “Love Don’t Cost A Dime”

Chike – “Spell Remix”

Praiz – “Reckless”

WINNER: Wande Coal – “Kpe Paso”


Best Music Video

Blaqbonez & Perliks – “Back In Uni” (Blaqbonez)

Tg Omori – “Pbuy” (Asake)

Director Pink– “Spell Remix” (Chike & Oxlade)

Tg Omori – “Bandana” (Fireboy & Asake)

Director K – “Common Person” (Burna Boy)

WINNER: Director K – “Calm Down” (Rema)


Best Collaboration

Asake Ft. Burna Boy – “Sungba Remix”

Bnxn Ft. Kizz Daniel & Seyi Vibez – “Gwagwalada”


Pheelz Ft. Bnxn – “Finesse”

WINNER: Spyro Ft. Tiwa Savage – “Who’s Your Guy Remix”

Pheelz Ft. Davido – “Electricity”

Wande Coal Ft. Olamide – “Kpe Paso”

Best Street-Hop Artiste

Rexxie Ft. Naira Marley & Skiibii – “Abracadabra”

WINNER: Seyi Vibez – “Chance (Na Ham)”

Asake – “Joha”

Zlatan Ft. Young Jonn – “Astalavista”

Poco Lee & Hotkid – “Otilo”

Mohbad – “Peace”

Afrobeats Single of the Year

WINNER: “Last Last” – Burna Boy


“Rush” – Ayra Starr

“Buga” – Kizz Daniel & Tekno

“Finesse” – Pheelz Ft Bnxn

“Who’s Your Guy?” – Spyro

“Asiwaju” – Ruger


Headies’ Viewers’ Choice

Ruger – “Asiwaju”

Camidoh (Ghana)

Best East African Artiste of the Year


WINNER: Diamond Platinumz



Eddy Kenzo

Hewan Gebreworld

Best North African Artiste of the Year

Marwa Loud – Morocco

Wegz – Egypt

WINNER: El Grande Toto – Morocco

Soolking – Algeria

Best Southern African Artiste of the Year

Aka (South Africa)

Nasty C – South Africa

Costa Titch – South Africa

Uncle Waffles – South Africa

WINNER: Focalistic – South Africa

Dj Tarico – Mozambique

Best Central African Artiste of the Year

Fally Ipupa – Democratic Republic of Congo

Gaz Mawete – Democratic Republic of Congo

Matias Damasio – Angola

Emma’a – Gabon

WINNER: Libianca – Cameroon


Best R&B Album

Home – Johnny Drille

WINNER: The Brother’s Keeper – Chike

Reckless – Praiz

Waje 2.0 – Waje

Matter of Time – Dami Oniru

To Be Honest (Tbh) – Simi

Best Alternative Album

Horoscopes – Basketmouth


WINNER: Gbagada Express – BOJ


Some Nights I Dream of Doors – Obongjayar


Subaru Boys: Final Heaven – Cruel Santino


Heart of the Heavenly Undeniable – Somadina


Native World – Native Sound System


Best Rap Album

Fly Talk Only – Payper Corleone


Palmwine Music Vol 3 – Show Dem Camp


WINNER: Young Preacher – Blaqbonez


Ypszn3 – Psychoyp


Teslim: The Energy Still Lives in Me – Vector


Billion Dollar Dream – Jeriq


Next Rated

Young Jonn


Seyi Vibez








African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: Rema (Nigeria)


Burna Boy (Nigeria)


Marwa Loud (Morocco)


Black Sherif (Ghana)


Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)


Lyricist on the Roll

Ladipoe – “Clowns”


Vector – “Clowns”


WINNER: Payper Corleone – “Fly Talk Only”


Alpha Ojini – “Vigilante Bop”


A-Q – “Family First”


Tec (Sdc) – “Live Life”


Best Inspirational Single

“Stand Strong” – Davido Ft Sunday Service Choir


“Jireh (My Provider)” – Limoblaze, Lecrae & Happi Music


This Year” – Victor Thompson & Ehis ‘D’ Greatest


WINNER: “Eze Ebube” – Neon Adejo


“Tobechukwu” – Nathaniel Bassey And Mercy Chinwo

“I Get Backing” – Victoria Orenze

Digital Artiste of the Year

Burna Boy

Ayra Starr


Omah Lay

Kizz Daniel


Previous articleGovernor Sanwo-Olu Submits New List of Lagos State Commissioners to State House of Assembly for Approval
Next articleNigeria Labor Congress Strike Kicks Off as Unions Shun Meeting with FG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here