Home Nigeria Governor Sanwo-Olu Submits New List of Lagos State Commissioners to State House...

Governor Sanwo-Olu Submits New List of Lagos State Commissioners to State House of Assembly for Approval


Sanwo-Olu: Celebrating a Kind Hearted Achiever at 56 -By Gboyega ...By Uche Amunike

Governor Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has submitted a new list of Lagos State commissioner nominees to the state House of Assembly for their clearance and approval.

The Clerk of the Lagos State House of Assembly read the letter containing the fresh list signed by Governor Sanwo-Olu,  during plenary on Monday, where the governor urged the lawmakers to assess the nominees for clearance. In the letter, the governor stated thus: ‘The successful formation of the State Executive Council is a crucial step in our collective to ensure a just, equitable and prosperous Lagos state.’

While thanking the lawmakers for the diligence and commitment they showed during the earlier screened and confirmed 22 nominees, Sanwo-Olu further stated: ‘Your rigorous assessment of these nominees in adherence to your constitutional obligations demonstrates your dedication to ensuring a competent and effective council.’

‘After careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.’

Recall that in July, the governor sent the names of 39 nominees to the House. However, the House cleared 22 of the nominees and rejected 17 of them. The current list submitted to the State House. Includes some of those earlier rejected by the lawmakers.

When the House rejected some names from the list sent by the governor, it generated divergent opinions in the public space, as many Nigerians interpreted from that action that the governor and the speaker were not in good terms.  Eventually, the Governor’s Advisory Council in the state, met during the row over the development.

In the new list of Lagos State commissioners, five of six former commissioners who were initially rejected are included for a second chance. They include Gbenga Omotoso (Information and strategy), Akin Abayomi (Health) and Sam Egube (Economic planning and budget), as well as Cecilia Dada (Women’s affairs and poverty alleviation) and Olalere Odusote (Energy resources).

Former Commissioner for Education, Folashade Adefishayo, however did not make it to the second list. The Speaker,  Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa appealed to the Chairman of the screening committee, Fatai Mojeed, to see that the nominees are thoroughly screened during the exercise. The report of the ad-hoc committee is expected to be submitted to the House by Thursday.

Below are the names of the Lagos State commissioners that made it to the fresh list:

1. Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen


2. Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi


3. Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi


4. Engr. Olalere Odusote


5. Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola


6. Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem


7. Mr. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe


8. Mr. Samuel Egube


9. Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu


10. Mrs. Bolaji Cecelia Dada


11. Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare


12. Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso


13. Mr. Mosopefolu George


14. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje


15. Dr. Olumide Oluyinka


16. Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi


17. Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola


18. Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa

Previous articleNNPP expels Kwankwaso
Next articleHeadies Awards 2023 Winners, Burna Boy, Asake, Rema, Others, Shine in Atlanta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here