Home News FULL LIST: Buhari appoints Soludo, Rewane, Ode Ojowu to economic advisory council

FULL LIST: Buhari appoints Soludo, Rewane, Ode Ojowu to economic advisory council


President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted an economic advisory council to replace the current economic management team headed by Yemi Osinbajo, the vice president.

According to a statement signed by Femi Adesina, special adviser to the president on media and publicity, the team will report directly to the president.

Doyin Salami, a senior lecturer at the Lagos Business School and former member of the monetary policy committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) is the chairman of the council.

The other members of the committee are:

Mohammed Sagagi  as the vice-chairman

Ode Ojowu – member

Shehu Yahaya – member

Iyabo Masha – member

Chukwuma Soludo – member

Bismark Rewane – member

Mohammed Adaya Salisu – secretary (senior special assistant to the president, development policy)

“The Economic Advisory Council (EAC) will advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies,” the statement announcing their appointment read.

“The EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President.  The Chairman may, however, request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.”

The vice president’s economic management team (EMT), which was made up of ministers and heads of some government agencies has been in place since 2015.

The EMT has had only one meeting since the Buhari-led administration began its second term in office.

Source: The CableNG
Previous articleTHE POLICE AND YOU
Next articleMy wish for Nigeria, by Bill Gates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here