Home Nigeria President Tinubu Approves Inauguration of Minimum Wage Committee, Tuesday

President Tinubu Approves Inauguration of Minimum Wage Committee, Tuesday


By Uche Amunike

The Tinubu-led government of Nigeria has approved the inauguration of a 37-man tripartite Minimum Wage Committee, whose primary duty will be to recommend a new National minimum wage for Nigerians.

Speaking, through a statement, Sunday, by Segun Imohiosen, for the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, he noted that the planned inauguration by the Minimum Wage Committee was sequel to President Tinubu’s approval, adding that it will hold on Tuesday, January 30, 2024 by 12 noon at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa at the State House, Abuja.

The committee is to be chaired by the former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Bukar Aji and cuts across the federal government, state government, private sector and organized labor.

Members selected from the federal are: Hon. Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Hon. Minister of State, Labour and Employment (Representing Hon. Minister of Labour and Employment); Mr. Wale Edun, Hon. Minister of Finance & Coordinating Minister of the Economy; Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, Hon. Minister of Budget Economic Planning; Dr. (Mrs) Yemi Esan, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary, GSO. OSGF and Ekpo Nta, Esq, Chairman/CEO, NSIWC – Member/Secretary.‘

From the state government, are the following members to make up the Minimum Wage Committee: ‘Alh. Mohammed Umar Bago, Governor, Niger State- representative from North Central; Sen. Bala Mohammed, Governor Bauchi State- representative from North East; Alh. Umar Dikko Radda, Governor Katsina State- representative from North West; Prof. Charles Soludo, Governor, Anambra State- representative from the South East; Sen. Ademola Adeleke, Governor, Osun State- representative from South West; Mr. Otu Bassey Edet, Governor, Cross River State- representative from South West.’

On their part, the Nigerian Employers Consultative Association (NECA), will be represented by the following people: ‘Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, Director-General, NECA; Mr. Chuma Nwankwo; Mr. Thompson Akpabio with also members from the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) include Asiwaju (Dr) Michael Olawale-Cole, National President; Hon. (Dr) Ahmed Rabiu, National Vice President and Chief Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), National Life President.’

The National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) also have their representatives, namely: ‘Dr. Abdulrashid Yerima, President & Chairman of Council; Hon. Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu, Private Sector representative; Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello, Zonal Vice President, North West and also from the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) are Mrs. Grace Omo-Lamai, Human Resource Director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, mni, Director-General, MAN; Lady Ada Chukwudozie, Managing Director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.’

The Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) is represented by : ‘Comrade Joe Ajaero, President, NLC; Comrade Emmanuel Ugboaja, mni; Comrade Prince Adeyanju Adewale; Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji; Comrade Benjamin Anthony and Prof. Theophilius Ndukuba’, while their counterparts in the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) are represented by : ‘Comrade (Engr) Festus Osifo, President, TUC; Comrade Tommy Etim Okon, PhD, Deputy President I, TUC; Comrade Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, Deputy President II; Comrade Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III; Comrade Nuhu A. Toro, Secretary-General and Comrade Hafusatu Shuaib, Chairperson Women Comm.’

Every member has been advised to process their clearance early at the security gate and be seated at the council chamber by 11:30am. Arrangements have already been made for a shuttle bus which will be available at the pilot gate to move members to the venue.

Members of the minimum wage committee are to meet with the Head of the Secretariat, Mr Chiadi Adighiogu, Director (Compensation) in the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages commission for further information.

Previous articleAisha Achimugu’s Biography at a Glance after Hosting Governor Sanwo-Olu at Lavish 50th Birthday Bash in Grenada
Next article2,423 people killed, 1,872 kidnapped in eight months under Tinubu govt – Coalition claims


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here