Home Header Inauguration Day: PDP clinches 15 guber seats, APC gets 14

Inauguration Day: PDP clinches 15 guber seats, APC gets 14


Of the 29 new governors sworn in on Wednesday, 15 are from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) while 14 are from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Four years ago, the table was the other way round; the statistics then were in favour of the APC which swept 20 states into its fold while the PDP’s umbrella was only able to accommodate nine states.

The internal crisis that rocked the APC could be said to be one of the major causes of the turnaround. In the buildup to the elections, the party was unable to unite its members in the various states, causing the ruling party strongholds like Zamfara and Imo.

Although some states initially under the PDP such as Kwara and Gombe fell to the APC, the main opposition party was able to win over a good number of “progressives” states.

Below is a full list of the 29 governors sworn in on Wednesday:

1 Abia PDP
2 Adamawa PDP
3 Akwa Ibom PDP
4 Bauchi PDP
5 Benue PDP
6 Borno APC
7 Cross River PDP
8 Delta PDP
9 Ebonyi PDP
10 Enugu PDP
11 Gombe APC
12 Imo PDP
13 Jigawa APC
14 Kaduna APC
15 Kano APC
16 Katsina APC
17 Kebbi APC
18 Kwara APC
19 Lagos APC
20 Nasarawa APC
21 Niger APC
22 Ogun APC
23 Oyo PDP
24 Plateau APC
25 Rivers PDP
26 Sokoto PDP
27 Taraba PDP
28 Yobe APC
29 Zamfara PDP

Source: The Cable NG

Previous articleUBA in partnership with Mastercard Reward Customers with All expense paid trip
Next articleBuhari’s inauguration: PDP, others knock President for keeping mum, Obasanjo, Jonathan absent



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here