Home Nigeria Ihonvbere, Kingsley Chinda named house of reps majority, minority leaders

Ihonvbere, Kingsley Chinda named house of reps majority, minority leaders

house of rep
house of rep


Tajudeen Abbas, speaker of the house of representatives, has announced the principal officers of the majority party – the All Progressives Congress (APC) – in the lower legislative chamber.

At plenary on Tuesday, Abbas announced Julius Ihonvbere, lawmaker representing Owan east/Owan west of Edo as the majority leader; and Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims, legislator representing Ankpa/Omala/Olamaboro of Kogi, as the deputy majority leader.

The speaker also named Bello Usman Kumo, representing Akko federal constituency of Gombe as the chief whip; and Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga, representing Ikenne/Sagamu/Remo north federal constituency in Ogun, as the deputy chief whip.

For the minority leadership, Abbas announced Kingsley Chinda, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from Rivers as the minority leader; while Ali Madaki of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) was named as the deputy minority leader.


Ali Isa of PDP was named minority whip; while George Ebizimawo of Labour Party was announced as deputy minority whip.

Abbas said all the members of the APC in the house endorsed the selection of the principal officers from the governing party.

He prayed for wisdom for all the principal officers as they take the reins of leadership in the green chamber.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here