Home Nigeria Godswill Akpabio: Senate President of the 10th National Assembly, Elected, Sworn in

Godswill Akpabio: Senate President of the 10th National Assembly, Elected, Sworn in

Godswill Akpabio
Godswill Akpabio

By Uche Amunike

The victory has been recorded of Godswill Akpabio, Senate President of the 10th National Assembly after a landslide defeat of his opposer, Abdulaziz Yari by scoring 63 votes against Yari’s 46 votes in a fierce contest at the Red Chambers, Tuesday, in Abuja, Nigeria.

During the voting process, which was coordinated by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Tambuwal, Akpabio was nominated by Senator representing APC, Bornu South, and seconded by Adeola Olamilekan, Senator representing Ogun West.

On his part, Yari was nominated by Senator Elisha Abbo of Adamawa North constituency and seconded by Jimoh Ibrahim of Ondo South constituency. Yari’s  nomination was however, opposed by Senator representing Bornu North, Tahir Monguno, who moved the motion that his nomination should be cancelled because he was not qualified to be nominated for the position, according to the Senate Standing Rule.

The CNA, however ruled the motion out of order and accepted his nomination. Soon after, supporters of both candidates queried their nominations for different reasons, bringing about disorder in the house.

Mr. Tambuwal, however, ordered that the lawmakers should remain silent and continue the election process.

After the election, which was conducted by secret ballot, Godswill Akpabio emerged Senate President and was sworn in as winner of the election.  He took the oath of allegiance, oath of membership of the senate and oath of the office of the Senate President. After this process, the instruments of the office of the Senate President was handed over to him, including the standing Rule and the gavel.

On his part, Senator representing Kano North, Barau Jibrin emerged Deputy Senate President of the 10th National Assembly. He was elected unopposed. He was nominated by the former governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi, who represents Ebonyi South and seconded by APC Senator representing Kwara State Central, Sani Mustapha.

Just like in the case of Godswill Akpabio, Senate President, Mr. Jibrin was handed over the instruments of his office after he had taken the oaths of allegiance, membership of the Senate and Office of the Deputy Senate President.

The inauguration of both Senate President and the  Deputy Senate President was meant to commence by 10am as specified by a notice given by the CNA. However, the time was changed, as it eventually started by 7:40am, even though many journalists that were earlier invited to monitor the process were yet to be on ground.

Many senators, however, arrived by 7am for the inauguration, which was observed by some APC governors and stakeholders.

Present at the event, were Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Imo State Governor Hope Uzodinma, Governor, Ekiti State, Abiodun Oyebanji and governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello.

Also on the attendance list were former governor of Kano state, Abdullahi Ganduje and National Secretary of the APC, Iyiola Omisore, to witness the election process.

Notably, Godswill Akpabio, Senate President of the 10th Assembly and his Deputy, Barau Jibrin are the annointed candidates of both the APC and President Bola Tinubu.

Previous articleI no dey put mouth for couple matter again – reactions as Femi Fani Kayode, estranged wife attend event in matching outfit
Next articlePresident Bola Tinubu Signs Student Loan Bill into Law as Stakeholders Express their Misgivings


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here