Home News APC adopts Lawan, Akume for Senate President, Deputy

APC adopts Lawan, Akume for Senate President, Deputy


The governing All Progressives Congress,APC, has nominated Senators Ahmed Lawan from Yobe and George Akume from 495x301xSenate_Chamber_118774062-e1371933422986.jpg.pagespeed.ic.W2gaxj3DCYBenue State to run as the party’s candidates for the office of Senate President and Deputy Senate President respectively in Tuesday’s election at the National Assembly.

In an election held at the International Conference Centre Abuja Saturday night, Mr. Lawan scored 32 votes, while Akume got 31 to emerge as Deputy Senate president.

Two votes were declared invalid.

The APC has 59 Senators in the 109- member Senate.

Announcing the result, the returning officer of the election, Mala Buni, who is the APC’s national secretary, said by the result, Messrs Lawan and Akume are now the recognised candidates of the APC for the office of Senate president and Deputy respectively.

Senators loyal to another candidate, Bukola Saraki, boycotted the election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here