Home Nigeria 2nd List of Tinubu’s Ministerial Nominees Sent to Senate, as Fani-Kayode Reacts

2nd List of Tinubu’s Ministerial Nominees Sent to Senate, as Fani-Kayode Reacts


Buhari's Cabinet: Tinubu Under Serious Criticism For Allegedly Standing ...By Uche Amunike

The second list of President Bola Tinubu’s ministerial nominees, consisting 19 names, have been sent to the Senate, on Wednesday, for confirmation.

Among the nominees are former Plateau State governor, Simon Lalong; a former senator from Bayelsa State, Heineken Lokpobiri and Shuiabu Abubakar Audu, son of a former Kogi State governor, Abubakar Audu; former Osun State governor, Adegboyega Oyetola; former Kebbi governor Atiku Bagudu; former Zamfara governor, Bello Matawalle; former Yobe governor, Ibrahim Geidam;

There were three other former senators on the new list, namely Heineken Lokpobori from Bayelsa state, Alkali Ahmed Saidu from Gombe State and Sabi Abdullahi from Niger State.

After concluding the screening of the 28 ministerial nominees, the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio announced their names at the plenary. With president Tinubu’s ministerial nominees, just sent to the Senate, their number have just been increased to 47.

The list was delivered by the Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila, to the President, while the Congress was in session. Considering the remaining 6 ministerial nominees, the president noted that the Senate would reconvene on Friday to continue with the screening of the new ministers designate.

Recall that the list of President Tinubu’s ministerial nominees was forwarded last Thursday to the Senate for confirmation. The former nominees whose screening was done by Wednesday were drawn from 25 states, while the new list consists of nominees from the remaining 11 States and the Federal Capital Territory.

Below is the new list of President Tinubu’s ministerial nominees:

Abdullahi Tijjani Gwarzo

Bosun Tijani

Dr Maryam Shetty,

Isiaka Salako

Tunji Alausa

Dr Yusuf Tanko Sununu

Adegboyega Oyetola

Atiku Bagudu

Bello Matawalle

Ibrahim Geidam

Simon Lalong

Lola Ade John

Shuaibu Abubakar Audu

Prof Tahir Mamman

Senator Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi

Senator Alkali Ahmed Saidu

Senator Heineken Lokpobori

Uba Maigari Ahmadu

Zephaniah Bitrus Jisalo

Meanwhile, APC chieftain and former Minister of Aviation, Femi Fani-Kayode has reacted to the  second list of President Bola Tinubu’s ministerial nominees, forwarded to the National Assembly for due screening.

Recall that members of opposition parties had earlier mocked Fani-Kayode for not being included in the list of Tinubu’s ministerial nominees, to which he had been silent. When the second list was released, he tweeted a congratulatory message, Thursday, to the nominees, and wished them the very best in their new appointments.

He described them as excellent choices as he felicitated with them. Hear him: ‘Congratulations to all those in both the first and second Ministerial lists of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu (@officialABAT).’

‘They are all excellent choices and I wish them the very best in their service to our great nation.’

‘I was a Minister 16 years ago and I know how tasking and challenging it can be. We must remember them in our prayers and ask God to guide them in all their endeavours as they make difficult choices for our nation and assist Mr. President. God will use them to take our great nation to a higher level.’



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here